Fairytales · fantasy · Uncategorized

eat, sleep, swim, repeat…

…”eat, sleep, swim, repeat” – a mermaid design I would like to work on very soon, once I have finished all my mermaids for the colouring in book. Progress is slow, but I’m getting there. Initially I thought I would only have around 14 designs, but now it looks like I will have at least 25 that I am happy with.

So here is a photo of my hand, and one of the mermaid designs I’m working on for the colouring in book. I was a bit torn over whether to draw scales, as I felt that was maybe too prescriptive, but after some advice from my focus group (read: friends) it was decided that scales were the way to go. That’s a lot of scales for me to catch up on, but more colouring in fun at the end of it.

wholeworldonmyshoulders

As you can see from above, some of my mermaids are a little over-dramatic but only in a playful way. Hopefully there will be something in the final colouring in book that most people, underwater or otherwise, can relate to.

Much like the mermaid in the photo, I feel a little overwhelmed right now. I’m going to keep on working hard on the colouring in book, but I also want to try and set up an online shop (in preparation for said book) plus work on my usual fairies and other weird ideas. With a bit of luck, I’m sure I will get there.

One thought on “eat, sleep, swim, repeat…

  1. I like how prophetic this is, when the weight of the world is on your shoulders you’ll ultimately tip the scales. We’ll add some more weight to the other side soon though and the balance will return 🙂

Leave a Reply

