Fairytales · Uncategorized

this mermaid said

Well, I won’t be winning an awards for most attended blog, will I?

No point in apologies this time, but I will give a couple of (kind of) excuses. I still find that my projects are so bitty that there’s not much point in blogging about them. Plus I just want to draw new things, not write about old things. Maybe the solution is shorter, more frequent blog posts. Or maybe I just stick to my once-a-year-or-so blog post. Watch this space to find out which solution wins!

Finally though, I feel I am working on something worth blogging about. Mermaids. In a colouring-in book. It’s quite exciting, but a bit nerve racking as I’m effectively drawing for other people.

Much like my fairy based designs, I’m trying to keep it all a bit tongue-in-cheek, with word plays on human parallels. That’s the plan anyhow.

Most of the pages are in preliminary sketch forms just now – I’ve put a sneak peek of 6 of them. Hoping to end up with around 12 – 16 of them and I expect it could take a couple of months before it’s complete and in production. In the meantime, I do have a few mermaid based pieces available at my society 6 shop.

mermaid colouring in ideas copyright

For now, I’ll leave you with the sketches above and this thought… there’s no plaice like home. (Yes I’m considering a Wizard of Oz based mermaid, but not sure if it’s too silly. Feedback welcome on this one).

 

Leave a Reply

