Fabric Designs

A little sugar

In-between going a little Fringe Festival crazy, I did squeeze in some more fabric designs. Mainly my take on Mexican sugar skulls, something I have been meaning to do for quite some time as I absolutely love the imagery and the symbolism behind them.

Once I’d hand drawn lots of skulls, I then scanned the drawings in and produced them in several different colourways. I’ve designed most of them to match in with my previous ‘creepy’ fabric designs, but I also did a grey background version with some more colourful skulls.

The skulls are simplified, and have my own personal take on them, so don’t do traditional Mexican sugar skulls justice – but the final designs do have quite a lot of vibrant, visual impact. I’m hoping to sabotage one of my dresses using these samples, so I can have a nice ‘day’ dress for Halloween. We’ll see how that experiment goes!

Mexican skulls creepy collection

Leave a Reply

